PART 3: The Day I Submitted My Residency and Application Papers

As I fill out my forms to become a Norwegian resident, I can’t help but wonder about my ancestors.  They came over from Sweden about 4 generations ago.  Would they be happy I was coming back to Scandinavia?  Angry at me?  Why did they leave?  I might not ever know, but I do know I’m back and I need to figure out how to stay.

If you haven’t already ready How To Become A Norwegian Resident and Worker, start there.  I added a paragraph to it and this post will continue the process.

Our date was set for December 5th, 2013.  I was going to submit my documents for Residency and Work permits at the Oslo Center For Foreign Workers.

We arrived at 9:50 am.  The appointment to walk up to the counter was at 10:10 am.  Psh!  Yeah I was nervous!  but I played it cool.  We had all our paperwork which included copies of passports, HB’s job contract and payslips, and the questionnaire.  Scroll to the bottom to get the questions I had to answer.  Some were interesting!  The questions had to do with our relationship, how, when, where engagement and wedding took place?  How often we talk?  Was the marriage arranged?  (Yes, by us!)  Was a dowry paid?  (See why we had to get our legal wedding early?  If they are not happy with our proof of relationship, then we need to prove it some more!  I think posting it on Facebook was a good idea.  Just in case they don’t believe us.)

Lots of future immigrants were waiting.  Names were called out every couple minutes.  If someone didn’t come in a few seconds, the next name was called.  I sat upright, knees and ankles pressed together.  My hands were placed on my lap.  Big eyes, occasionally taking a deep breath.  HB paced.  Then I heard it!  “Jamie”  My hands and feet shot away to the arms and legs of the chair like a dog ready to run for the bone that hasn’t been thrown yet.  OMG they just called me!  Is it me?  “I’m here!  I’m Jamie!”  We nearly ran to the desk!  Well, it’s me now.

She asked for our passports.  Flipped through them… then STAMPED a paper.  Yay!  I think.  I have no idea what that Norwegian worded paper says but stamps are usually good.  She started looking through the other documents, making copies, taking notes.  No expression… c’mon lady, give me something… a nod of approval, a smile… this no expression thing is killin’ me!  And then, she says were done!  Wait wait wait!

So can I work now?  Yes, she says!  Do I get healthcare?  Not yet.  Can I get free language lessons now?  No.  Can I leave the country for Christmas?  Yes but be back before your tourist visa is up mid January.  Do I have to stay after that?  Yes until you get a response on your application.  Do you think I’ll still be able to go to Mexico in April?  Yes, you should be able to.  How long with the approval take?  2 – 9 months.  So I can go out and get a job right now?  Yes.

HB and I went out to lunch and I headed off to the job I wanted most… teaching gymnastics at the biggest gym in Norway.  I gave them my CV (Resume) and went to find a fun language learning job.  I really want to get a part time job in a bakery.  I want to learn the different flours, ingredients, and repeat the same language everyday to learn it!  I was turned down by everyone!  I didn’t speak Norwegian.  I am a useless immigrant.  Ok, not so great for the confidence that’s already buried under a mountain.  (Picture a deep hole on the side of our house where I toss a bit of confidence down every few days.  Eventually I’ll go down and get it.)  I even went to tourist street where they HAVE to speak English.  Nope.  No spreka, no joba.  I’m telling you, be nice to immigrants.  It is not easy for them and you have no idea why they ended up where they are.  I didn’t come here to take jobs, I just want to live with, love, and help support HB!  Either way, for us to be together, one of us would be an immigrant.  Please, for me, hug an immigrant today!  Preferably a non native language speaking one.  Support them!  Especially America!  Most of your families were immigrants at one point.  How would you feel if it was you or your parent?

Sigh, anyway…

So as of last week, I am officially unemployed!  YAY!!!  Why is that a yay?  Before I was unable to legally work in Norway, but now I am legal to work in Norway!!!!  I am not a resident yet, but while the paper work is being processed, I can work!  So far, been turned down by 13 jobs because I don’t speak the language.  BUT I got a huge refund back when they said we couldn’t for applying to the wrong police district, and I was able to move my application date TWO months earlier when they said it was unlikely.  I WILL get a job that I want!!!!  NO OTHER OPTION!!!  ARGH!!!!!